Met Éireann issue weather warning for SEVEN counties ahead of Storm Caroline

5th Dec 17 | News

Met Éireann have issued a status yellow weather warning ahead of Storm Caroline this Thursday.

Given it's name by the UK Met Office, Storm Caroline has prompted the Irish national forecaster to issue a wind warning for Donegal, Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Sligo, Clare and Kerry.

The storm is expected to pass close to the north coast of Scotland on Thursday morning with strong and blustery winds over Ireland expected to follow.

Gusts of between 100km/h and 110km/h are expected alongside a forecast for hail, thunder and freezing temperatures.

The weather warning will come into place 3am on Thursday morning and will remain until 8pm that evening.